Sunday, Jan 20th

Last update01:30:00 AM GMT

You are here Warrier Samajam History

Warrier Samajam

Samajam History

  • PDF

Though there have been many isolated attempts in the past to organize the Global Warriers, an organized effort started in the year 1977 to unite the Warriers all over Kerala.


Though there have been many isolated attempts in the past to organize the Global Warriers, an organized effort started in the year 1977 to unite the Warriers all over Kerala. Warrier Samajam was formally registered and launched in the year1977. The official headquarters initially was at Kottayam, which was subsequently moved to Guruvayur following the completion of the Akshaya building at Guruvayur. Currentky, the Registered Office is at Kottayam and the Administrative Office is in Guruvayur.

Among the personalities who worked hard for the formation of the Samajam may be mentioned Sri Mazhuvannor Sankara Warrier, the first President, Sri. E. Sankara Warrier, Sri. C.K. Achutha Warrier etc.

MemberShip, Organization:
Samajam membership is open to all those who belong to the Warrier Community. It offers an ordinary membership as well as a Life Membership (stopped now).

The Samajam has three Zones, the North , the Central and the South . Under each zone, there are District units and under them the local units. The Samajam is administered by a Central Executive Committee (also called as Director Board) consisting of the President, Vice President, Secretary, the Treasurer and one representative from each of the three zones.

The local units hold monthly meetings to discuss about general affairs of particular interest to the members. There will be also annual general body meetings at the unit level. The office bearers of the local unit committees are elected in the annual general body meetings. The units conduct programmes to celebrate local events or festivals and provide opportunities for the unit members to interact. Today, the Samajam has about 72 registered units spread across Kerala, major cities in India and also countries such as Dubai, and Bahrain.

The Office bearers of the Central Committee are also elected in the annual General body meeting of the Samajam. Their term of office is one year.

Activities Of The Samajam: The primary aim of the Samajam is to organize all the Warriers under one organization. It also works for the all round upliftment of the community members. It caters to the cultural, social and economic needs of the community. The Samajam also extends help to Warrier families during any functions (weddings, sradhams etc).
The Samajam has instituted the following endowments & awards for members of the community:
1. Peroor Saraswathy Warasyar Memorial Award (SSLC)
2. Vettikkattoor Prof. Krishna Warrier Memorial Award (SSLC)
3. Attoor Kochu Madhava Warasyar Memorial Award (SSLC - Sanskrit)
4. Thirumooppathu RamanKutty Warrier Memorial Endowment (PDC - MG University)
5. Dubai Sharja Warrier Group Endowment (PDC / Plus 2 - Commerce)
6. Kannampuzha Krishna Warrier memorial Award ( M.A. Sanskrit / Malayalam / Hindi)

The Samajam publishes a monthly magazine called Theertham to convey its various activities to members. It also showcases the talents of community members. Samajam also publishes Theertham Calender every year. Samajam has started Warrier Mandiram at Chovvara, near Aluva in order to facilitate performing ceremonial rites & rituals for the departed souls from Warrier community. The Perumbavoor unit has started this project in 1999 and the Mandiram is now situated on the banks of River Periyar, at Chovvara, very close to the National Highway 47. The project is now supervised by the the District Committee of Ernakulam and the Perumbavoor, Aluva, Paravoor, Angamali, Chottanikkara and Cochin units of the Warrier Samajam.